Best Reviewer Award 2021

The Editors of Labour Economics, select out of a list of 10 top reviewers for Labour Economics a winner. The prize is € 1,000.

The winner of the Best Reviewer Award 2021 is:

Matti Sarvimäki (Aalto University, Finland)

Motivation: We have many excellent reviewers, delivering timely and constructive reports, sometimes for several coeditors and guest editors. This year, our coeditors nominated ten different reviewers. The winner of the Best Reviewer Award 2021 is Matti Sarvimäki (Aalto University, Finland), who wrote four reports in 2020 and 11 reports in total for four different coeditors and guest editors. Matti Sarvimäki always engaged with the reviewed papers, providing critical but also always very constructive feedback that really helped co-editors reach their decisions on those papers.

List of nominated best reviewers

Ian Burn, University of Liverpool
Etienne Lalé, Université of Quebec at Montreal
Jens Mohrenweiser, Bournemouth University
Richard Murphy, University of Texas Austin
Matthias Parey, University of Surrey
Stephen Ross, University of Connecticut
Matti Sarvimäki, Aalto University
Jeffrey Smith, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Alexandra Spitz-Oener, Humboldt University of Berlin
Jenna Stearns, University of California
Lennart Ziegler, University of Vienna

Previous Best Reviewer Award winners

2020: Marie Paul, Universität Duisburg-Essen
2019: Ioana Marinescu, University of Pennsylvania
2018: Alex Bryson, University College London
2017: Nicolas Ziebarth, Cornell University
2016: Maria Knoth Humlum, Aarhus University
2015: Elizabeth Cascio, Dartmouth College
2014: Jan van Ours, Erasmus University, Rotterdam